I don’t think you’re beautiful-I think you’re beyond it.

by Joy Monger

Lil Wayne makes me happy…

Today I spent the morning drinking coffee and sifting through all the post-holiday clutter. It gave me a chance to listen to all the lovely musical mixes that my friends shared with me this month. I don’t think there is a better gift than a personally crafted mix (it’s like a hug from the inside out) and it was the perfect soundtrack to de-tinsel a house by.

A few of my favorites:

Nic’s Best of 2009:

  • Swimming Field; Memory Tapes
  • Snookered;Dan Deacon
  • Turn Me Well; Micachu & The Shapes
  • Summer Song; Yacht
  • Bulletproof; La Roux
  • The Reeling; Passion Pit
  • Swing Tree; Discovery
  • 1901; Phoenix
  • Warm Heart of Africa; The Very Best fest. Ezra Koenig
  • Medicine; Starf**ker
  • 11th Dimension; Julian Casablancas
  • Nothing to Worry About; Peter Bjorn and John
  • Deadbeat Summer; Neon Indian
  • Feel It All Around; Washed Out

Vinnie’s December Mix

  • Whole New Way; The Horrors
  • Humdrum Town; Theophilus London
  • Green Eyed Love (Classixx Remix); Mayer Hawthorne
  • One Life Stand; Hot Chip
  • Through The Wire; Kanye West
  • Night By Night; Chromeo
  • Gorilla Meat; Jogger
  • Pink Batman; Dan Deacon
  • I Can Hear Music; The Beach Boys
  • Headache; Frank Black
  • Disorder; Joy Division
  • Don’t Be a Jerk, Jonny; The Drums
  • Interesting Results; Ariel Pink’s Haunted Graffiti
  • You Should All Be Murdered; Another Sunny Day
  • Government Center; The Modern Lovers
  • Right And Wrong; The Muslims
  • London; The Smiths

Enjoy!