Zeitgeist: doppelgänger

by Joy Monger

Apparently it’s “doppelgänger week” on facebook which means you’re supposed to post a picture of the celebrity you have been most often compared to.

When I was a freshman in high school the janitor used to stop me in the halls almost daily to have the following exchange:

Janitor: “You know who you look like?”

Me: “Ummmm, no.  Who?”

Janitor: “That girl from Roseanne.  You know, the daughter.”

Me: “Ummm, okay.  Thanks?”

I have to tell you, that conversation wasn’t great for the teenage spirit.  So nowadays I’ll take “You look just like the Neutrogena Girl”  or  “that girl from Lost” or even “Your mom” just as long as I don’t ever get compared to Darlene again.

Today’s joy comes from the Wikipedia entry for Doppelganger.  It’s actually really interesting.  Apparently, seeing your doppelgänger is a harbinger of bad luck.  Also, Abe Lincoln saw his twin in the mirror and took it to be an omen that he wouldn’t live through his second term and we all know how that turned out.

PS: Yes, I know I used the term Zeitgeist incorrectly.  But I thought is was funny.  Funny trumps correct on the joy blog.

