I wanna rock your gypsy soul…

by Joy Monger

I love, love, love Van Morrison. Astral Weeks is probably my favorite album.  When I went away to college my Dad took me to the record store and bought a copy for me; I guess it was my rite of passage into adulthood.

But for a long while I couldn’t stand to listen to Van.

I was in a relationship and “our song” was a Van Morrison song; it was one of the things we bonded over when we first met.  The breakup was messy and painful and every time I heard Astral Weeks on  the radio I felt like the Universe was taunting me. I missed the songs so much but it was painful to hear them.

In the past year I’ve healed and hearing Crazy Love doesn’t make me feel crazy.  Nowadays it’s just really good music; no longer a painful trigger.

This morning I listened to The Swell Season’s cover of Into the Mystic as I drove into work.  It was a really beautiful morning and I sang along as loud as I could. I felt strong and happy.

It sure feels so good to have Van back.

PS: Check out The Swell Season if you don’t know them.  They are the cute musicians from the movie Once who fell in love in real life, formed a band, broke up but still play together.   I saw them at the Ogden and it was a brilliant night.

