The Universe Hears You part 2

by Joy Monger

I really need to watch what I say lately…the Universe is hell-bent on reminding me that it is listening.

This past year I made a vow to try and “let go and let God (or Allah, Vishnu, Big Woo, Yahweh, the Great Energy…). ”  I realized that by trying to control everything, I was just making a mess of things. So I chilled out, let go, and received the gifts the Universe chose to send me. Without judgement or plan.

And boy, oh, boy has it been wonderful. This year has been the most surprising and blessed year of my life. I’ve had more unexpected loveliness enter my world in ways I never could have imagined.

But lately I’ve been getting all clintchy again.  Forcing relationships, not trusting in the bigger picture, not being authentic, over-thinking everything. I know best, right? 

Wrong.

It’s kind of like force-hugging a cat. You think it’s what you want but it doesn’t feel very good.

But before I got too far down that road of force-hugging Life I got an email from my Pastor at church. He sent it to everyone, but I am pretty sure it was meant just for me.

It said:

Oswald Chambers said “To be certain of God means that we are uncertain in all our ways-we don’t know what a day will bring forth. This is generally said with a sigh of sadness. It should rather be an expression of breathless expectation.” So go ahead, begin to lose yourself in awe and wonder again. Bask in uncertainty, control freak. Really.

Embrace relational uncertainty-it’s called ROMANCE.

Embrace spiritual uncertainty-it’s called MYSTERY.

Embrace occupational uncertainty-it’s called DESTINY.

Embrace emotional uncertainty-it’s called JOY.

Embrace intellectual uncertainty-it’s called REVELATION.

So I am thanking the Universe for my gentle reminder by renewing my vow to bask in sweet uncertainty.  Weeeeeeeeeee! Scary.

