Postcards from the edge

by Joy Monger

I just received a postcard in the mail from my friend who had been travelling in Scotland. I didn’t even know he had gone. Or had come back for that matter.

The postcard was pretty and his message featured loads of british slang. It didn’t really say much but had lots of foreign stamps starring older ladies in crowns.

In this day and age where everyone sends text messages instead of proper letters and skype is just as common as a face-to-face chat, it is so nice to receive real live mail in the post box. And something so vintage and nostalgic as a postcard to boot!

I wonder why postcards still enjoy popularity?  Does it have something to do with the fact that they are sent while on vacation? That when we finally have time to slow down and think about how we would like to communicate with our loved ones we chose the written word?

Or was he just bragging that he was on vacation in some exotic locale and I was not?

Bugger.

