Wait Mr. Postman

by Joy Monger

I love hand written letters. I think they’re old-fashioned and romantic and speak to a simpler time when communication was an art form and not a series of emoticons. A time when reaching out to someone took effort and grace. A time when your boss couldn’t sideswipe you with a hurtful email and there was no such thing as drunk dialing.

WTF.

I used to have this idea of editing a book that would be filled with letters written but never sent. Letters people had written to their fathers, or their boss, or to the head of the permits department, but then thought better of it and never sent them.

That’s why I love this website; Letters of Note. It’s a collection of old letters, postcards, telegrams, faxes, and memos and it’s quiet lovely.

There is one from Iggy Pop in which he encourages his young fan to “hang on, my love, and grow big and strong” that will just make you all bleary eyed.

Please read a few and then send me a letter. Now that I’ve cancelled my Netflix subscription my mailbox is quite empty…

