Super Groups

by Joy Monger

I admit it, I love super groups.  Whether it’s Crosby, Stills, Nash, & Young, Audioslave, The Postal Service, or just a “We are the World” turned up way loud, I dig it.

Disclaimer: I also really liked Crystal Pepsi, so I obviously don’t have good taste, I just enjoy a gimmick when I see it.

I once saw Erykah Badu open for Common Sense at Red Rocks, and at the end of the night they came out on stage together and sang a few together.  I almost peed my pants.  And then a year later, I saw Outkast and The Roots perform, and Erykah came out from backstage to sing with them too.

Apparently Erykah likes super groups as much as me.

So it shouldn’t be any surprise that even though I never have been a huge Rolling Stones fan, I am really enjoying Mick Jagger’s crazy brain child/super group, Super Heavy.  The group includes British songstress/pot head Joss Stone, that one guy from Eurythmics (no, not Annie Lennox), Bob’s son; Damien Marley, and they guy who wrote the music to Slum Dog Millionaire (and some other stuff too but I don’t speak Sanskrit).

Sounds like it could be a hot, multi-cultural, train wreck, but it’s actually pretty fun.

Watch their video for Miracle Worker here

