Better Daughter

by Joy Monger

I don’t know if you’ve noticed, but lately I’ve been having a pity party for myself.

Life is hard, I wish I were better, if only it were different, why do I always get the weird skin diseases, etcetera.

And then a friend turned me on to this really great writer who blogs professionally.  And she blogs about her two beautiful children, and their cute dogs, and her loving husband who works beside her on the blog, and they are artistic and fashionable and creative and she has a cute pixie haircut.  And instead of being excited to have stumbled upon this great source of writing inspiration, it only made me feel frumpy, and single, and uninspired.  For crying out loud, I don’t even have a dog.

I put the cute blogger on my goal poster for 2012 because I wanted to be more like her and her perfect life. And I stopped reading her blog because it only added fuel to my pity party.

Today, after severals weeks away, I went back to the cute blogger to catch up. And I was blown away.

Sadly, in just the few short weeks since the last time I read the blog, her marriage was over, her husband moved out. Her children asking where daddy was, her cute pixie hair messy from stress.  You could feel the pain radiating from the computer screen.  Just. utterly. shaken.

As much as I hate to admit it, it really made me see my life with fresh eyes.  And more than any other exercise or prayer or jog that I have taken in the past few months to try to shake me out of my funk, her sadness made me happy.

Not because I was glad she is sad.  I’m actually quite sad that she’s sad.

But because it made me realize that no one is perfect. And that your world can flip upside down in an instant. And that my life is pretty darn good, even when it’s bad.  And there is no sense wasting time coveting other people’s lives or wishing for something different.  I should be spending my time appreciating what I have now.  And maybe also go adopt a dog already.

Growing up my dad used to say “you can wish in one hand, and poop in the other, and see which fills up faster.”  I think that was his way of saying that it’s a waste of time sitting around wishing, when you could be out enjoying life.  He’s not the most tactful man, but he is right.

So enjoy your yourself, be grateful, and hug the ones you have.  Don’t wait for the universe to make things really bad before you appreciate what gifts you’ve been given.

My cute sad blogger just posted this song by Rilo Kiley.  It’s helping her through the dark times.  Listen to it and send her some positive thoughts.

